Bonsai BEFORE Growing season. aka~ Spring Is About Here!

Hello all. Spring is about here in Ohio… just wait another 24 hours, we’ll be back to winter. BUT for now, its very nice & my bonsai are ready for the growing seasons coming up! Here  are some of my inside growing bonsai before they flourish. Keep in mind these are only STARTERS and won’t be considered as “bonsai” for at least another 3 or 4 years. Enjoy.

I believe this one to be a “Star Juniper”. Someone may correct me if I’m wrong. These were started by clippings this passed fall and will be future “clump styled” almost as though it looks like a forest scene.

This little guy is a Maple tree. I forget what kind of maple it is and it’s hard to tell with no leafs at this stage…

I obtained this Juniper from a vender at the annual Asian Festival in Columbus, Ohio this passed summer. And it’s doing very well.

This Maple is of a “trident” category. This tree~ling is actually a very early bloomer. I was very surprised to find the buds beginning to swell in mid February!

This is a starter from a clipping off of my grandmother’s Weeping willow tree. Very glad to see it doing well. They’re very delicate because of their constant need for moisture.

Now, I must remind myself that this beautiful Japanese Maple is NOT a bonsai. This is my mother’s. I had rescued it from death and now im watching it closely until late spring.

This is a Boxwood bonsai. It had a twin that got an infestation in the dead of winter and I didnt tend to it in time. But this one is doing JUST fine.

Ficus would be what this next one is. In a clump style (done very quickly and poorly for now).

Please do keep in mind that these were mostly started on their journey as bonsai after the first snow fall so they were forced with a life of inside weather (which is not wealthy for most bonsai). And they will become outdoor plants as early as late april. As the growing season flourishes the bonsai with nutrition, the wires will then begin to help whip ’em into shape. thanks guys
~Jess

 

 

Leave a Reply

